Democrats Re-Elect Pelz as State Party Chair

Democrats meeting in Olympia today have re-elected Dwight Pelz as their State Party Chair. Pelz defeated Natalie McClendon, Chair of the Whatcom County Democrats, by a vote of 145 to 14.

Pelz was first elected Chair of the State Party in 2006. The Party enjoyed great successes in 2006 and 2008, winning significant legislative majorities; re-electing Maria Cantwell, Chris Gregoire, and six Congressional House members; and carrying Washington for Obama. In 2010 the Party was credited with running a strong Get-Out-The-Vote effort to re-elect Patty Murray and Rick Larsen in close races in what was widely regarded as a Republican year.

Valerie Brady Rongey of Spokane was elected Vice-Chair, replacing Sharon Smith.

Rob Dolin of Seattle was elected Secretary, replacing Luis Moscoso, who was just elected to the State House.

Habib Habib was re-elected Treasurer.